Ian Chesterman (A'76) was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to sports administration, particularly with the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC). Ian is one of two current Vice Presidents of the AOC and has been named Chef de Mission for next year's Tokyo Summer Olympics, having served in the same role for the past six Winter Olympics. Ian serves on various committees relating to the AOC and the Olympic Winter Institute of Australia, and in the past has served on a range of state and national sport boards. Based in Tasmania, Ian worked as the Director of Development and Community Relations at Scotch Oakburn College between 2014-2017.


Roger Massy-Greene (Cu’65) was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the community through philanthropic initiatives. Roger is Executive Chair, co-founder and benefactor of the Eureka Benevolent Foundation, which is a family foundation that aims to overcome social disadvantage through a focus on early childhood, education and the developing world. He is a director of technology venture capital company OneVentures, private investment firm Eureka Capital Partners, and industrial land developers Illawarra Coke. Roger started his professional career as a mining engineer with Rio Tinto, co-founded Excel Coal and served as the Chair of Ausgrid, Endeavour Energy and Essential Energy, having been appointed by the NSW government to oversee reform of the NSW electricity distribution sector in 2012. He has been a member of Philanthropy Australia since 2014, was a major benefactor to Sydney University’s Pave the Way fundraising project, and is a Non-Executive Director of The Hunger Project Australia. He is also a Director of The Global Hunger Project, held senior positions with the Salvation Army and its Red Shield Appeal from 2008-2017, and is President of Cranbrook School Council.


Alexandra Sloan (Cl’76) was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the community of Canberra and to the broadcast media as a radio presenter. Alex retired after 27 years as a broadcaster with ABC Radio in 2016 and was named Canberra Citizen of the Year in 2017. She had presented various programmes on ABC Radio Canberra, including Drive, Saturday Breakfast, Sunday Brunch, Mornings and, most recently, Afternoons. Alex started her radio career as a rural reporter with the ABC in Tasmania. She moved to the ABC in Sydney before postings in the United States, Japan, South Korea and Hong Kong. She returned to Australia as a reporter-producer on ABC Radio National’s Breakfast programme before joining ABC Radio Canberra. Outside of broadcasting, Alex has also been a long-time supporter of a range of charities, including Hands Across Canberra and Project Independence, as well as taking on roles on the ACT Place Names Committee, the ACT Architecture Board and Endeavour House/The Australia Institute’s Writer In Residence programme. She is Regional Director of the Churchill Fellowship Selection Committee and was a member of the USA Fulbright Scholarship Judging Panel (2006-2011).


Reverend Ronald Mark Browning (P’63) received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to the community. Ron is the co-founder and President of the Australian Karen Foundation, which aims to empower the Karen people of Burma – whether living in refugee camps on the Thai Burma border or resettled in Australia. He wrote a book, The Apocalyptic Heart: The Book of Revelation in an unjust world (Morning Star, 2015), and has worked tirelessly to improve the lives of Karen refugees and to develop the capacity of Karen young people in Australia. Ron was ordained as an Anglican Priest in 1975 and served as Vicar at Kensington (1979-1985) and West Coburg (1985-1989) before becoming Chaplain at Trinity College at Melbourne University (1989-1995). He was Vicar at Holy Trinity in Williamstown for a decade (1995-2005) and after a brief stint at St Thomas’s in Werribee, Ron co-founded the Australian Karen Foundation:

Judy Vanrenen (He’69) received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to the tourism and hospitality industry. Judy was the inaugural chair of the Southern Grampians Tourism Advisory Board in 2001 and a foundation member of the Grampians Tourism Board. From her family farm in Glenthompson, Judy founded boutique tour operator Botanica World Discoveries in partnership with Australian Pacific Touring (APT) in 2000, which is a botanically themed tourism business that takes travellers on garden tours around the world. Judy has written two books, Beyond the Garden Gate (APT, 2014) and Along the Garden Path (APT, 2017), about the history and influence of gardens. A former General Manager of Evergreen Tours, she was a voluntary business mentor, Board Member and President of the non-profit Small Business Mentoring Service, which was recognised in 2003 with a Centenary Medal for voluntary service improving the performance of small business in Victoria.

Michael Douglas Whalley (M’69) received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to the community through charitable organisations. Michael has been Chairman of The Foundation for Australia and New Zealand Arts since 2014 and has been involved at various levels with such organisations as the Royal Flying Doctor Service, the Menzies Foundation and Friends of the University of Melbourne Charitable Trust.

Ambulance Service Medal (ASM)

Catherine (Katy) Southern (Fr’04) has served Ambulance Victoria with distinction for over 10 years as a paramedic and also in particularly in the area of inclusiveness. She has been an exceptional role model as a member of the LGBTIQ community and has provided vital leadership for new LGBTIQ staff at Ambulance Victoria, demonstrating the commitment of the service to its diverse personnel. Since 2013 she has led the coordination and development of Ambulance Victoria's involvement in the annual Pride March, with participation growing each year. Additionally, in collaboration with other emergency response organisations, she has ensured that LGBTIQ staff from other organisations, including the Country Fire Authority and State Emergency Service, have had the opportunity to participate in the annual march. Miss Southern's commitment and service have been instrumental in showing people across the state that Ambulance Victoria is representative of all areas of the community.




Sally Browne, Mother of Miles Browne (Glamorgan py’94), Billy Browne (Glamorgan ’91) and Tess Ley (Williams, He’01), for significant service to the community through charitable organisations, and to the fashion industry.

Ms Vicki Lorraine Standish, mother of Julian Standish (Cu’00) and Tristan Standish (Cu’00), for significant service to the community through philanthropic initiatives.


Dr Nigel Warren Hocking, father of James Hocking (FB’96) and Alexandra Hocking (He’99), for service to medicine as a paediatrician.

Brian Wade Rayment QC, father of Eric Rayment (Bb’88) and Andrew Rayment (FB’88), for service to the law.

Clive Julian Smith, father of Clive Smith (Glamorgan ’65), Edwina Smith (Cl’78) and Chrissy Beresford (Smith, Cl’85), for service to children through charitable initiatives.

Graeme Henry Williams, father of Miles Browne (Glamorgan py’94), Billy Browne (Glamorgan ’91) and Tess Ley (Williams, He’01), for service to the visual arts.

Pauline Mary Messenger, grandmother of Lawrence Simpson (M’08) and James Simpson (M’10), for service to the community of Benalla.

The late Mr Mieczyslaw Waldemar (Michael) Parks, grandfather of Michael Parks (Timbertop ’17) and Georgina Parks (Year 9, Timbertop), for service to the community of Geelong.