Supporting Australian Rules Football at Geelong Grammar School

The Newman Club was founded in 1980 to support Australian Rules Football at Geelong Grammar School. The Club was named in joint recognition of Noel Newman and his son John (Sam) Newman. Both were present at the inaugural dinner in 1980 at which Noel gave the founding speech.

Noel Newman, born Frederick Noel Bolton Newman, was a student at Geelong Grammar School from 1916-24 and master at Corio from 1929-66. He was variously known as Noel, Newy, Nogger and F.N.B.N. In 1924 he was vice-captain of football when the GGS team came as close to a premiership as in any year since 1902 – they were beaten only by a brilliant Xavier team, nine of whose members went on to play VFL football. Charles Cameron, coach of the 1st XVIII and a former VFL player, said on retirement in 1947 that Noel was the best schoolboy footballer he had seen during his thirty-two years on staff. As a staff member, Noel coached the 1st XVIII on and off in the 1930’s and 1940’s.

John (Sam) Newman, born John Noel William Newman, was a student at Geelong Grammar School from 1952-63. He played in the first XVIII from 1961-1963. He was vice-captain in 1963 and selected to play in the APS representative team. He joined the Geelong Football Club the following year and played 300 games for them in a career spanning 1964-80. He twice won the Club Best & Fairest (1968 & 1975), was selected as All-Australian (1969) and represented Victoria 8 times. He was inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame in 2002 and selected in the Geelong Team of the Century in 2001. Today, Sam is the Newman Club patron, Noel having passed away in 2000.


President: Ben Grodski (FB'91)
Vice President: Vanessa Mahon
Treasurer: Michael Stapleton (P'91)
Secretary: Ben Fothergill
Committee Members: Michael Davis (P'85), Liz de Steiger (Henderson, Cl'91), Caroline Dow, Nean Furphy (Weatherley, Cl'88), Jim Gall (Cu'91), Ben Hollands, Rick Le Deux, Eliza Mantello (Bartholomew, Cl'96), Nick McCulloch (Cu'89), Kate McGavin (Muller, Je'90), Michael Naylor (A'86), James Neville-Smith (P'88), Katey Neville-Smith (Rattray, Ga'86), Chris Nicolay, Emma Pierson (Bayles, Cl'87), Fiona Richardson (Cl'91), Mark Ritchie (P'82),  Ben Stewart (A'91)

Past Presidents: Darren Lord (M'89) (2019-2021), Mark Kebbell (2014-2018), Mark Kellett (2013), Bill Sloss (2012), Cathie Vickers-Willis (2011), Richard Champion de Crespigny (Cu'70) (2009-2010), Bill Lloyd (2008), David Sleigh (M'73) (2007), James Richardson (M'73) (2005), Paddy Handbury (M'72) (2003)


For more information or to contact the Newman Club Committee, please e-mail Iga Bajer, Support Group & Event Coordinator -


Newman Noises - October 2021

Newman Noises - June 2021 


Revised membership categories are currently under consideration. More information will be posted soon.
Contact in case of any questions.


Through the School’s fundraising partnership with the Australian Sports Foundation (ASF), donations to the Newman Club are tax deductible.
The Club does need funds to continue to provide equipment, improved coaching facilities, provide barbecues at match day, social functions for our parents and supporters, and trophies/badges for our players. This can only occur with your donations and we are grateful for any help you may be able to provide.

So please show your support for Footy at Geelong Grammar by donating today!
Follow this link: 
and remember that every dollar you donate via the ASF is tax deductible.