Officer of the Order of Australia AO

Edward Norman Baillieu (Glamorgan 1964)


For distinguished service to the people and Parliament of Victoria, particularly as Premier, and to international engagement. Mr Baillieu dedicated the appointment to his family, saying his wife Robyn was not only a supporter of his but a "great contributor" to the community herself.

The 47th Victorian premier, who served between 2010-13, said he looked back on his time in office "very positively", citing fiscal responsibility and investments in arts and rail infrastructure as headline achievements.

Member of the Order of Australia AM

Georgina Jane Somerset (Robinson, Cl’82)


For significant service to primary industry, to women, and to the community. "I think it's great to have some recognition of the work done for rural Australia," Georgie said. Known for her role as AgForce's first female general president, Georgie has been a vocal advocate for the agricultural industry.

"Since I stepped in as president, the drought has deepened, there was the monsoon event in Far North Queensland, issues surround the reef regulations bill and recently the issues surrounding the Lake Eyre Basin consultation. It's a privilege helping to steer an organisation that is going to be there to do the work in these difficult areas." 

She has also been a board member of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation since 2017, a director of the Royal Flying Doctor Service, Queensland since 2016, a director of Children's Health Queensland since 2013 and a committee member of Wide Bay Burnett Regional Development Australia since 2015 and an associate member of the National Council of Women since 1995.

Medal of the Order of Australia OAM

Wayne Morris Bowden (Honorary OGG and Past Staff)


For service to music, particularly through brass bands.

You can read a feature on Wayne's life dedicated to music here.

Cedric Lyle Carr (Ge’48)


For service to the community of Geelong, and to accountancy. The success of many Geelong businesses and charities were achieved with the assistance of Cedric Carr’s business leadership. He was also a founding member and treasurer for 35 years of Geelong’s first ever child care centre, “Geelong and District Day Nursery” now known as “Geelong Children’s Centre.”

Cedric volunteered his time on several boards and committees and was president of Geelong West Rotary Club, Council president of Geelong West Technical School, and member of Moorabool Housing Society to name a few.

Lizzie Corke (Timbertop 1994)


For service to conservation and the environment. 

In 2000, Lizzie and her husband, Shayne, founded the Conservation Ecology Centre (CEC). The CEC’s work has included the development of a substantial research program in partnership with universities, government and other stakeholders, establishing an ecological burning program with the Country Fire Authority (CFA); restoring koala habitat by planting over 200,000 trees on Cape Otway and developing a network of researchers and land managers who share information and data across the region. 

Public Service Medal PSM

Dr Adam Lewis (FB’78)
For outstanding public service through the application of geospatial information. Lewis’ vision and leadership has transformed the way spatial data is organised, prepared and analysed, leading to changes in the way images are recorded by satellites in Australia. Since 2004 he has transformed Geoscience Australia’s earth and marine observation function into a globally recognised capability. He has been key to the design and development of Digital Earth Australia — technology which provides the government with the data to monitor the environment and increase productivity in the agricultural and mining industries. He also helped create the Open Data Cube, a global initiative which increases the value and use of satellite data, providing users with free access to technology and analysis platforms.

We miss Michael Collins Persse so much, for so many reasons, but at this time we miss his thorough combing of the Australia Day Honours lists. He rarely missed anyone and was more accurate than any of the data matching technology we have at our disposal!

If you, or someone you know has received Australia Day Honours and are not mentioned above, do let us know! Please email oggs@ggs.vic.edu.au

More OGG Update Articles

Light Blue - December 2019
The latest edition of Light Blue is available here.
News of OGGs
News of Katrina Lehman (Webb, Cl'93), Georgie Cavanagh (Cl'03), Sam Seccombe (FB'16), Mia Gross (Fr'19) and Brodie Murray (M'19) is featured this month.
Visiting Fellows - Jane Gilmore
Seats are still available to hear Jane Gilmore speaking at Geelong Grammar School this Thursday 27 February as part of the Richard and Janet Southby Visiting Fellows Programme.
Medal for Service to Society
Nominations are now open for the 2020 Geelong Grammar School Medal for Service to Society.
Old Geelong Grammarians XCR Team
The Old Geelong Grammarians (in conjunction with the John Landy Club) welcome runners of all ages and abilities to participate in the Old Geelong Grammarians Cross Country Running team. If your intere ...
OGG Mentoring - Register for 2020
Sign up for OGG Mentoring. Mentors from all industries and all jobs are encouraged to register their interest along with OGGs wishing to find a mentor.
Australia Day Honours
A number of Old Geelong Grammarians were recipients in the Australia Day 2020 Honours List.
Corio Campus Discovery Day
Families considering Geelong Grammar School for their child are invited to the Corio Campus on Tuesday 17 March at 10.00am.
Healing Historical Harm
The School continues to provides the services of an independent counsellor (Pauline Ryan) and a Survivor Liaison Coordinator (Renee Handsaker) for anyone in our community who would like counselling or ...
When is my next Reunion?
Curious about when your next reunion is coming up? Read on for some details...
Calendar of Events 2020
The OGG, COGA and HOGA Reunions and Events for 2020 can be viewed in this month's newsletter.