Above: The victorious 2016 Girls' 1st VIII with coaches Rob England and Debbie Clingeleffer-Woodford
(C) Richard Kumnick, Photo Play
Geelong Grammar School has a long and proud history in Rowing. The School first participated in APS Rowing in the early 1870s and has won 33 boys' and 19 girls' Head of the River titles. The Light Blue Boys have the second most number of wins in the Head of the River (with Scotch College at 43).
Geelong Grammar's Rowing programme is organised around the School's boathouse on the Barwon River. The programme intensifies from Year 10 and above, although it is offered to Year 7 (beginning in Term 4 each year) and Year 8 students (beginning in Term 1). Rowing in Years 7 and 8 is largely viewed as an introduction to the sport, due to the Timbertop experience in Year 9.
It is compulsory that students choosing Rowing pass the School's swimming test or equivalent.
Rowing at Geelong Grammar is steeped in tradition and a rich history of success. It commenced as a school sport at GGS in 1874, although some boys in previous years had rowed with the Barwon Rowing Club. Our girls' 1st crew is the most successful in the history of the Head of the River, having claimed the title on 19 occasions. The boys have won the Head of the River on 33 occasions, having first participated in the time-honoured event in 1875.
The W.H. Pincott Club Inc. was established in 1963 to further the interests of rowing at Geelong Grammar School, in every way possible. Only five men and the rowing master attended the first meeting - but the Club has now grown to over 1,600 members.
Contact current President: Clive Jamieson; mob: 0418 528 599
March 03 2017
February 16 2017
November 17 2016